PDA

View Full Version : alternator 1 wire or 2?


RHCASTEEL
04-11-2008, 07:43 PM
Hey ya'll,

Can i use a one wire alternator on my ps 190, indmar

JimN
04-11-2008, 07:48 PM
Why change it from the type that was in it originally?

RHCASTEEL
04-12-2008, 08:28 AM
need a higher output for the stereo and amps

TMCNo1
04-12-2008, 08:53 AM
Just start a few more threads!

JimN
04-12-2008, 09:17 AM
Go to a local automotive electrical shop. They can rebuild the standard frame to a higher rating. It doesn't necessarily have to be a one wire. How much current will you need?

Make note of Engine Nut's comment about upgrading the charging and ground leads. The ones in the boat will not support much more than the OEM alternator.

chico
04-12-2008, 10:54 AM
With a self exiting alt.you may have to rev it up to get it charging at idle.

JimN
04-12-2008, 11:09 AM
I don't know of an alternator that puts out 100% of its max voltage at idle. Usually, it's around 12-12.5VDC, not the 14.4VDC it is around 2500RPM and above. The regulator will handle that, anyway.