PDA

View Full Version : Redoing79

79stars
03-25-2008, 09:33 AM
well... the rub rail is now gone and the pin striping! I tried some vert glas on one side just to see. It worked OK however Im going to try the wet sand method next. IM a novice so this thread will be slow, but Im going to try and do this myself unless I come into a lot of money!!! So, that being said here are some pics.... Check out the budget pin stripe removal method...Hairdryer and razor..worked like a gem!

KnoxX2
03-25-2008, 09:44 AM
Looks like you made a great start. Keep up the good work!

ShamrockIV
03-25-2008, 09:44 AM
looks good to me!! just take ur time and go slow!! wetsanding is kinda a pain and makes a mess!!!!

79stars
03-25-2008, 10:01 AM
Any suggestions on the rub rail replacement. I have been told I have to drill out the existing rivets, fill with some type of caulk (taking suggestions here) and then go back and re-rivet. However, as you see in the front of the boat ( previous Pics in 1st thread) the deck is a slight bit jacked up from hitting the dock at my lake. What I'm asking is whats the proper technique for refitting new rubrail and making sure the old holes and deck do not leak?

TMCNo1
03-25-2008, 10:19 AM
Any suggestions on the rub rail replacement. I have been told I have to drill out the existing rivets, fill with some type of caulk (taking suggestions here) and then go back and re-rivet. However, as you see in the front of the boat ( previous Pics in 1st thread) the deck is a slight bit jacked up from hitting the dock at my lake. What I'm asking is whats the proper technique for refitting new rubrail and making sure the old holes and deck do not leak?

Here is where you can find it, in this thread, http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=6640

And if you Google, "site:tmcowners.com boat rubrail" there are a bunch of threads covering replacement and the procedures talked about here on TT.

79stars
03-25-2008, 10:52 AM