PDA

View Full Version : Towing with a Grand Cherokee??

rodecker1978
03-01-2008, 02:11 PM
Hey guys,
I'll be towing a 4500 lb X-2 with a 4500 lb Grand Cherokee. I'm not concerned with the power as it has a 310hp/345 torque V8. Just curious if you guys have ever had issues getting the boat out the water with a similar rig? Vehicle weight = boat + trailer weight...etc.

I guess I'm mostly concerned with traction...

Thanks much!

flipper
03-01-2008, 02:26 PM
I would worry about pulling it out of the water at all. I worry more about stopping it all more than anything.

JohnE
03-01-2008, 02:27 PM
I'm no expert, but I don't think you will have a problem.

rodecker1978
03-01-2008, 02:28 PM
Yeah, will make sure that the jeep and trailer brakes are in tip-top shape at all times...and leaving plenty of room in front of me when towing.

ShamrockIV
03-01-2008, 04:07 PM
it is not the pulling it is the stopping!!! boat weighs the same as the truck?? not a good idea IMHO!!

coz
03-01-2008, 05:22 PM
Hey guys,
I'll be towing a 4500 lb X-2 with a 4500 lb Grand Cherokee. I'm not concerned with the power as it has a 310hp/345 torque V8. Just curious if you guys have ever had issues getting the boat out the water with a similar rig? Vehicle weight = boat + trailer weight...etc.

I guess I'm mostly concerned with traction...

Thanks much!

This thread might help too.
http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=21535
:steering:

6ballsisall
03-01-2008, 06:11 PM
I pulled our X7 with our JGC w/ V8 several times over some distance. Powerwise it had no problem at all. Stopping it did decent. What unnerved me was the tail wagging the dog. THat short wheel base on the JGC made it a bit squirelly at times. The Durango we had at the time pulled the X7 MUCH better due to longer wheel base. YOu can do it with the JGC I am sure but I'd take it easy and realize that X2 is heavier than my X7 was, it will throw your JGC around.

As for the boat ramp, you'll be fine....

rodecker1978