PDA

View Full Version : Roller rockers worth doing?

denverd1
02-06-2008, 04:34 PM
Hey folks! first post here on TMC. I am an owner, so lets get that out of the way. 1986 Tristar 220. 351W engine. Turning out to be a decent little wakeboard platform. Came with a tower, dropped in a ballast system and fresh prop.

The point is: working on the 351W to get more life out of it. At 700 hrs it runs pretty strong. Thinking: intake, camshaft, gt40 heads with minor work.

Are roller rockers something i should while its torn down? for another 100 bucks, i might as well. I like the idea of improving the engine's internal efficiency. Also, any guesses on how much more power it will produce with them vs. without?

ShamrockIV
02-06-2008, 04:35 PM
welcome!!!
sounds like u got a nice boat!!!
wish i could help but i am not the best mechanic!!
You will get TONS of great advice on here!!!

Muttley
02-06-2008, 04:45 PM
Although I'm not a mechanic either, I've heard that updating the carb is an option. Maybe removing the muffler and rejetting?

...edited 'cuz I r not gude spellr

TRBenj
02-06-2008, 04:47 PM
Youre on the right track.

You'll get the best bang for your buck out of a intake/cam/head upgrade. Roller rockers will get you a little bit of hp (Ive read ~10-15hp), but I wouldnt necessarily recommend them, though I do have them installed on my engine. You wont get the same hp return for your dollar as with the other upgrades. Its not difficult to pull the exhaust manifolds and valve covers to install them if you decide to add them in the future. You may also find that you cant fit all brands of roller rockers under the stock valve covers.

Whatever you do, do not buy cheap rockers- either stick with the stock pieces or buy quality parts (FMS/Crane, Scorpion, etc). New ones will cost upwards of $300, though you can find used ones for less. I went with FMS.

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e260/TRBenj/FMSrockers.jpg

Monte
02-06-2008, 04:50 PM