PDA

View Full Version : My fiirst intubation!!!

thijs
02-01-2008, 04:26 PM
Hi all, as my signature suggests I am a registered EMT (primary care paramedic) here in Alberta. I am going to school finishing to become an "Advanced care paramedic" here in Alberta.

Alberta's 'ACP's are some of the highest trained here in Canada with the exception to a very few flight critical care paramedics in Ontario.

Well anyways on my first day (first call) of my second ambulance practicum I got my very first intubation (breathing tube). First try too!!! (what this paramedic is doing).

I am stoked, I haven't even done my operating room rotation yet.......

Sodar
02-01-2008, 04:39 PM
Congrats! From what I hear, the OR Rotation is the most interesting. I guess it is probably different for everyone though! Do medics up there work for a municipal fire department, or are they hired by privatized ambulance companies? Are you looking to get on with a Air Ambulance Co.?

east tx skier
02-01-2008, 04:42 PM
Hey, Sodarmod? You changed your name?

flipper
02-01-2008, 04:48 PM
Congrats....My wife does all that kind of stuff. I don't know how you guys do it, but I'm glad there's people like you that can handle it.

thijs
02-01-2008, 04:50 PM
Congrats! From what I hear, the OR Rotation is the most interesting. I guess it is probably different for everyone though! Do medics up there work for a municipal fire department, or are they hired by privatized ambulance companies? Are you looking to get on with a Air Ambulance Co.?

Actually all I will be doing in the OR is intubations. So really after the first few it will be boring. The ER and paediatric ER rotations are where you see the cool stuff.

Each province here in Canada is different EMS wise. BC for example is completely provincially run and funded. Alberta has a mixture of private or municiple and hospital services.