PDA

View Full Version : O'brien Mission....thoughts?

bridomine99
01-27-2008, 02:09 AM
I'm considering a O'brien Mission slalom ski with double Targa binding and I'm curious if what people think of this ski? I am far from a expert slalom skier and would probably consider myself intermediate to recreational. My budget is about $400-450 and want to get something that I can grow into from a performance perspective as we get back into sking and improve over time.

Last summer I had a O'brien Siege for a few weeks and it liked it; however I ended up having to return it due to defects and am currently without a ski.

Also, what are your thoughts on single vs double boots? I was leaning toward doubles; however this weekend at the boat show one of the reps from a local dealer (not Midwest MC), seemed to be very against them. He commented that many skiers are reverting back to toe plates and that he feels doubles are more dangerous.

Thanks

ShamrockIV
01-27-2008, 09:35 AM
You seem to be in the same boat as me. i am new ski shoping too!!
I keep hearing great stuff about the obrein synchro. i am also looking at the connelly fx1. i just got a set of draft boots so i guess that tells you my feeling toward double boots!!!!

BrianM
01-27-2008, 11:20 AM
Lots of good skis out there in your range but I know nothing about the Mission. Look into the Synchro, Connelly F1X or Connelly Concept or even the Radar Senate. I don't know what the dealer was trying to feed you about the toe plate but very few higher end skiers use them. I would reccomend a set of Wiley highwraps for a ski of this calibur. Can be had at a reasonable price are very good binders and comfortable. You can get a Concept with a set of double Wileys for $399. Nice setup for the money.

yippikaiyay
01-27-2008, 02:27 PM