PDA

View Full Version : 1980 19 Skier Restoration

gainerguy
01-09-2008, 04:33 PM
Hey guys

Im new to the forum and Im in need of some help. I have a badly oxidized 1980 Mastercraft. Im looking for some ways to make the shine some back. I tried the 3 step process of buffing it this past summer and it helped alot but it also too 12+ hours of work and Im no where close to being done. If there any other methods you guys have used that will bring back the shine and color? I got a quote yesterday to have it covered in epoxy for 4,000 and to redo the gel coat for 6,000. Im also looking for some trailer fenders. any help would be awesome!

sdesmond
01-09-2008, 05:14 PM
wetsanding the hull? Why not read up on it and try it? What do you have to lose? The trailer should be the easy part. read shepards restore. He did his boat and trailer with great results. Personally, I know you have alot of time invested already. I would rather have the satisfaction of knowing I did it all myself if I could.

mjw101081
01-09-2008, 05:30 PM
I am still in the process of my refurb... I have slowed but it has turned out well for more elbow grease than money. I vote do it yourself unless you just don't have the time. Can't wait to see all of your pics.

here's mine
http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=20284

74stars
01-09-2008, 07:08 PM
I also say wet sand is the way to go if there is little or no other damage to the hull. I have not updated it in a long time but here is a link to my resto project:

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=15485&highlight=quick+update

As far as the fenders go, I used standard steel replacement fenders from a local trailer shop and welded them on. I feel bad now because I really need to update my pics.. Good luck with it and keep us updated!!!;)

gainerguy
01-09-2008, 07:14 PM