PDA

View Full Version : Wakeboard question

ShamrockIV
11-15-2007, 10:51 AM
I am new to wakeboarding and i have a question. Is a helmet a good investment or just a needless investment? thanks!!!

tex
11-15-2007, 10:52 AM
I always wear one.

NeilM
11-15-2007, 10:54 AM
We recently invested,after a couple of real good 'brain rattlers' last summer. I think it's kind of like bicycle helmets -- takes a long while for the idea to catch on.

wakolman
11-15-2007, 10:56 AM
I vote for the helmet.

River Rat
11-15-2007, 10:58 AM
After that guy in Dallas went into a coma after hitting his head on a standard W/W we bought helmets and all kids wear them behind my boat now.

ShamrockIV
11-15-2007, 11:00 AM
thanks guys!! i am hunting boards for my daughters who are 8 and one for my wife. i want to get the kids into it!! so i guess i will get them a helmet too.

tex
11-15-2007, 11:03 AM
thanks guys!! i am hunting boards for my daughters who are 8 and one for my wife. i want to get the kids into it!! so i guess i will get them a helmet too.
Best way to get them to wear one...wear one yourself!

ShamrockIV
11-15-2007, 11:07 AM
Thanks Tex i will. I am too old to get hurt too bad!!
Should i get them with ear protection. after looking at a few on wakeside i remebered reading an article about one of the pros busting an eardrumm. that is permanent is it not?

tex
11-15-2007, 11:10 AM
You should wear one just to set an example. I don't wear one with ear protection but should. In all my years of show skiing I have seen a lot of ear drums wrecked. It's not fun.

ttu
11-15-2007, 11:17 AM
my son wore one for the last few summers, then this past may he went to a dave briscoe lesson. dave told him that they didn't help and have a tendacy to give you a "dunking" effect that can cause neck injuries.

so this summer he went all season w/o until he got knocked out in september. the next few sessions he started wearing it again.

RexDog1
11-15-2007, 11:35 AM