PDA

View Full Version : carb problems

loeweb
10-24-2007, 03:19 PM
Quick question for anyone who can answer. I took the boat out a couple of weeks ago and skied a couple of sets and barefooted at the end. Boat ran great when skiing, but stalled out when barefooting. At full throttle it would almost "cut out" and I had to let up on the throttle just to keep it going. I think I need to replace the needle and seat in the secondary. So the question is How hard is this to do? Do I need to take out the float to get to it, or will it come out of the top? Thanks in advance for any help given.

TRBenj
10-24-2007, 03:53 PM
Not sure I agree with your diagnosis, but Im far from a carb expert. Sounds more like a fuel starvation issue to me. Id inspect the fuel screen(s) at the inlet of the carb and at the tank pickup, as well as the check valve on the tank.

From what I understand, needle/seat issues usually result in fuel dripping down into the intake after shutting down.

loeweb
10-24-2007, 04:01 PM
Yes, but wouldn't that be the issue the whole time? It only chokes out when I am running full throttle or close to and after about a minute or so. I think that it is a starvation issue it would be happening all the time. I know the fuel filters are good and the carb inlet screen is good, but how do I check the check valve and teh tank pickup screen? Couldn't get the pickup out of the tank, and don't know how to do it.

whitedog
10-25-2007, 12:16 AM
I ran into this same problem late this summer. Turned out the fuel filter was getting plugged, but the main problem was a weak mechanical fuel pump. would only hold about 2 psi not the 4-6 required for a sustained WOT run.

kvalve
10-25-2007, 12:25 AM
Take it to you local MC dealer, they'll be able to help you out ASAP !
[how's that Jim?]

88 PS190
10-25-2007, 12:26 AM
what does it do when you go to full throttle during accel?

Does it cut out then? or just when it reaches top speed at WOT?

TRBenj
10-25-2007, 10:38 AM