PDA

View Full Version : mastercraft overheating problem

wake1080
10-23-2007, 12:06 AM
I have a 94 mastercraft prostar 205 and the problem is that it runs fine at speeds up till 30mph but at higher speeds for prolonged periods of time the temp gauge says that the engine is overheating and the engine slows down automatically until the gauge cools down. The impeller is maybe a month old. My friend said it might be bad thermostat, heat sensor, or computer related problem. If anyone knows anything regarding this problem, please let me know. Thanks

east tx skier
10-23-2007, 12:09 AM
Check the screen on the hull side of the transmission cooler. It may be clogged up with lake trash restricting water flow. If it has restricted it too much, I'd check the impeller, too, to make sure it isn't toasted as a result of not so much water to lubricate.

JoshBuzz
10-23-2007, 02:18 AM
East TX, you are so full of knowledge, what would we do without you?!?

:D

welcome to the board wake 1080!!

east tx skier
10-23-2007, 10:01 AM
I only know about three things, all of which I copied off of JimN's paper. But I am full of something. :) Thanks all the same.

And where are my manners. Welcome 1080!

TMCNo1
10-23-2007, 10:07 AM
I agree with Eastie, clean the intake path, replace impeller to start.
Welcome also to the site called Team Talk.

bdecker
10-23-2007, 10:14 AM
If you run in a place where you expect this to be a common problem, I'd have a sea strainer installed. It's a pretty cheap part and much easier to clean, but you do still need to watch it for clogs. We've had two boats suck up sawdust at tournaments and have the temps go up, and both times people have noticed the exhaust noise getting substantially higher, then you might even see some steam before the engine gets dangerously hot. I can take some pictures of the strainer install on my 05 197 TT if you're not sure where to put it.

bigmac
10-23-2007, 10:19 AM