PDA

View Full Version : DIACOM Software canīt communicate with MCX ECM / Help!!


Reto
10-20-2007, 02:51 AM
Mastercraft X-2 2006 MCX, DIACOM Software with Com Cable.

Iīm not able to get a communication between diacom and ecm. My laptop has windows xp. The COM1 is activated. The settings in the diacom software are set to Comm Port 1. Ignition is on. I chanced the first listing in the ECM Selection List (GM DELCO Mode 1 Master).

But: No communication.

Error:
"Check connections and make sure ignition is on"

The cable is connected and ignition is on. Any ideas what the problem could be?? I tried everything from several restarts of my laptop, chance the baud rate (default is 9600 bits/sec). I have no idea.

Please help! :confused: :confused:

Jim@BAWS
10-20-2007, 09:21 AM
No oen on here except a TECH guy will be able to help

We purchases a NEW laptop last week and Mr Gates NEW CRAP (VISTA)
gave us all fits. NO DIACOM for a week. Ended up purchasing a special cable and consulting DIACOM quite a bit. SERIAL 2 USB cable was recognized and now works

You may want to get ahold of Ian or Martin in the UK...they will help

Jim@BAWS

bigmac
10-20-2007, 10:05 AM
Just to clarify...this is DIACOM Marine software, yes? Latest version? For MEFI-5? And you are using the CAN network adapter?

Reto
10-20-2007, 11:01 AM
Just to clarify...this is DIACOM Marine software, yes? Latest version? For MEFI-5? And you are using the CAN network adapter?

Diacom Marine 1.5.0 with Can Network adapter.

Engine Nut
10-20-2007, 11:27 AM
Diacom Marine 1.5.0 with Can Network adapter.

You are a few versions behind on your software. Diacom is now running on version 2.03. Go to the following website and download the newest software:

www.rinda.com/diacom_update.htm

This will bring you up to the latest software. You would still have to update your USB cable to be able to use Diacom with any of the 2008 model engines with MEFI 5B controller but yours should work with your MEFI 5.

We tell dealers to check this Diacom update site regularly as whenever changes to the Diacom software are made they are posted there. The updates on the website are free but there is a cost involbed in updating the cable to work with the 2008 models.

Engine Nut

bigmac
10-20-2007, 11:31 AM
It may be that you have something in your particular computer that is tying up COM1 during boot and won't let it go. Mouse drivers are notorious for that, even in XP. When Windows boots, if it thinks there's a serial mouse attached, it assigns a mouse driver to COM1. The other possibility is that XP is misreading just what it is that's attached to the COM port and thinks it's a mouse (or something) instead of your EFI adapter. If you haven't already tried it, make sure the adapter is not plugged into the COM port during boot

If all else fails and you're sure your hardware and software is functional, one ploy is adding /fastdetect:com1 to your boot.ini file, assuming you're comfortable with registry modifications.

jaysus
10-20-2007, 07:37 PM
Might also be that the ECM is shot and there will be no com.

(if there was a problem prior to hooking up Diacom)

Leroy
10-20-2007, 07:51 PM
If you are using com1 RS232 port you will need to match the setting exactly. I would doubt 9600 baud is right. If you can use USB you will be much better off.