PDA

View Full Version : Frames per second

RK@UST
10-12-2007, 04:39 PM
In the world of Wakeboarding, considering the distance traveled, the speed, and assuming you are shooting from the boat, is a 3 fps camera sufficient. I know that is a very open ended question because sufficient in one person's eye is different than anothers, but it seems to me that taking pics of Nascar for example would be different than Wakeboarding when it comes to frames per second.
On the other hand , I am asking this trying to decide which way to go, coming from point and shoot digitals. I am a beginner .
I know a lot of you have experience in this.
So for good shots of Wakeboarding, and assuming a 3fps camera is $700 and a 6.5 is $1400 .
What would you suggest ?

Brazos Bum
10-12-2007, 04:45 PM
I have the Digital Rebel XT, which shoots 3 fps. Great pics, but I'd sure like to get a couple more frames on the typical wakeboard jump. I'd go for more than 3 fps on a new camera if your budget allows it.

east tx skier
10-12-2007, 05:13 PM
Minota 5D at 3 fps has been for than adequate for slalom pictures. Find out if the camera you're looking at supports a high speed card and be sure to get one. My Minolta supposedly doesn't support it, but I've used both and I'd swear the high speed gets me shooting more quickly.

G-man
10-12-2007, 05:16 PM
The more the better 5 fps is a big difference

endl
10-12-2007, 05:20 PM
Go to the watersports section then wakeboarding and the "wakeboarding shots". There is a lot of camera talk on there and some of the shots, specific info ect. Good source for you.

X2M
10-12-2007, 07:52 PM