PDA

View Full Version : Strut Bearings ?????????


rem_pss308
03-08-2005, 09:54 PM
When Installing my new acme prop form the group buy ( thanks again Brian )
I noticed I have some play in the shaft thru the strut.
I read in my Discount Inboard Marine that the strut bearings should be changed every 300 hours, More frequently in silty or sandy water.
My boat has about 800 hours on it. I have noticed that when I place the boat in reverse, and give it some gas, I have a vibration. Just thought it was normal, but if the bearing is bad, it could cause this I am sure.
Has anyone changed the strut bearings on your boat?
Does anyone know if the shaft has to be removed.
Anyone know what size. I have a one inch shaft.
http://skidim.com/products.asp?dept=1119


P.S. hope to try the new prop today....

BrianM
03-09-2005, 09:53 AM
Glad you got your prop and are happy.

I just had my strut bushing replaced for the first time with 470ish hours. The last two years I have run the boat exclusively in the club pond that is very silty. Mine just had a very little bit of play so I figured it was time to change. Sounds like you should replace since they are pretty loose. Even a small bit of vibration can cause transmission damage. Better safe than sorry.

I decided to have my mechanic do it since it requires removing the shaft completely and then removing the bushings from the strut with a slide hammer or by other improvised means. Decied it wasn't worth my time.

As for size just call SkiDIM and they will get you the right ones mine were 1 1/4" outside and 1" inside. Yours will be 1" inside but the outside diameter varied by year, model etc.

Nova Scotia Skier
03-09-2005, 02:25 PM
I just put new ones in mine this winter. I got them from Elbert's. Just gave them the year and model of boat. They knew just what I needed. Had to take strut off boat since I didn't have the proper puller. I used an old piece of 3/4" round bar and punched them out. Had to make sure the steel had a good square edge, because there's not much bushing there to get a hold of. And they come out hard. You do have to take the prop shaft out, so in my case I had to lift the motor as well. The coupling doesn't come off the shaft (at least not easily). Hope this helps a bit. :)

jimmer2880
03-10-2005, 06:41 AM
I just put new ones in mine this winter. I got them from Elbert's. Just gave them the year and model of boat. They knew just what I needed. Had to take strut off boat since I didn't have the proper puller. I used an old piece of 3/4" round bar and punched them out. Had to make sure the steel had a good square edge, because there's not much bushing there to get a hold of. And they come out hard. You do have to take the prop shaft out, so in my case I had to lift the motor as well. The coupling doesn't come off the shaft (at least not easily). Hope this helps a bit. :)

You should have had enough room to slide the shave out past your rudder. I replaced mine a couple years ago & didn't have to touch the motor.

kjohnson
03-10-2005, 08:04 AM
My two cents worth is to let a mechanic do it. After reinstalling everything, the shaft and engine alignment need to meet specs. I think they use a laser to align them. It's not something I would want to attempt.

jimmer2880
03-10-2005, 11:50 AM
The prop shaft coupler must be within .003 of an inch aligned. All you need is a set of wrenches and a feeler guage. I don't think anyone uses lasers for this as the feelers would be more accurate. But I could be wrong.