PDA

View Full Version : Carb Problem

skilew
03-08-2005, 06:18 PM
My carb seems to have excess gas dripping into the bowl when it is shutdown. It dripps so much gas after shutting down that the carb actually will start to leak out onto the engine. But the boat seems to be running very well? Any thoughts to this problem.

MarkP
03-08-2005, 06:24 PM
Iím not a mechanic but my first thought would be that thatís not right.. What year/motor/carb??

east tx skier
03-08-2005, 06:30 PM
Sorry, I specialize in hot stalls. But I agree with Mark that those are not favorable symptoms.

Bongo
03-08-2005, 06:32 PM
As with Mark, I'm not a mechanic - though do tinker some with my MasterCraft and an old Pontiac Convertible.

I expect you've got a Holley carb. of some type. I suspect your problem is with the floats in the carb, either stuck or set wrong, or the fuel pressure from your fuel pump is too high.

Bongo

whitedog
03-08-2005, 08:23 PM
Sounds like a stuck float or needle valve.

Laurel_Lake_Skier
03-08-2005, 10:00 PM
It dripps so much gas after shutting down that the carb actually will start to leak out onto the engine. ....... Any thoughts to this problem.
As has been said, it sounds like the float. In any case, due to the potential for a fire in the engine box, you should get it taken care of ASAP.
Keep that blower running! :eek:

MarkP
03-08-2005, 10:37 PM
Hey

Did we ever figure out what kind of boat we are fixin here:uglyhamme

skilew
03-09-2005, 09:26 AM
It is a Holley carb on a 1993 Ford 351. I agree that it sounds like a float problem so how do I adjust. Does the carb have to be completely rebuilt?

ski_king
03-09-2005, 09:31 AM
The orginal carb on the 93 era is known to have issues and many have replaced it with a different carb. Doug, East Tx Skier and others with 93's, will be able to give you info on this.

jsonova99
03-09-2005, 09:38 AM