PDA

View Full Version : Windows and Apple OSX


Sodar
09-26-2007, 11:38 AM
Can anyone help me out... I have been researching, but I have not gotten a definitive answer as to whether or not I can run Windows and Apple OSX, simultaneously on a MacBook Pro. I have heard that there are programs that enable you to switch between Windows and OSX, without rebooting. Is this completely true? What is the best program to "parallel" the two operating systems? I would love to just use OSX for all my computing, but unfortunately, my new companies project management tools and internal email will not work on OSX.

Thanks for any advice you can lend me. I have been searching, but it seems like is get the "Yeah, it works great" or "Yeah, it works but with limitations and flaws" :confused:

east tx skier
09-26-2007, 11:43 AM
Looks like the answer is yes.

Link (http://www.apple.com/getamac/windows.html)

Sodar
09-26-2007, 11:52 AM
Looks like the answer is yes.

Link (http://www.apple.com/getamac/windows.html)

Seems as though I was over thinking it by going to Apple Forums and such, when the answer was right on the Apple Website!

Screen shot from Parallels... pretty cool!!

http://www.parallels.com/files/upload/desk03.jpg

tones03
09-26-2007, 11:55 AM
My next computer will be a MAC, cant wait, im sick of windows and their viruses and random shut downs and crashes.

bigmac
09-26-2007, 11:56 AM
The short answer is yes.Works great. It requires an Intel-based Mac, as well as Parallels (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wa/RSLID?mco=7E4EB91E&nplm=TN831LL/A), but you can run Parallels and run the two OS's simultaneously, or you can use Boot Camp (http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/) to boot the machine into the OS of your choice. Note that in either case, you need to buy a copy of Windows (Vista or XP) to install on the Mac. Buy the OEM version from NewEgg (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116059)- it's a lot cheaper. If you can't get it there (they have some rules about that), you can buy the OEM version from Tiger Direct (http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=335900&Sku=M17-7502).

http://www.pbase.com/hmac/image/86223594.jpg

east tx skier
09-26-2007, 11:57 AM
Seems as though I was over thinking it by going to Apple Forums and such, when the answer was right on the Apple Website!

Screen shot from Parallels... pretty cool!!

http://www.parallels.com/files/upload/desk03.jpg

Google is the best tech support in the world. While it often takes you to the various forums, I've found more answers just typing questions into it than anywhere.

This one was the first result for "can you run windows and osx simultaneously."

JimN
09-26-2007, 12:06 PM
Parallels was just mentioned in the 'Windows Vista?' thread, yesterday. It's still a live thread. If you call an Apple Store, they'll tell you about what is needed to run Windows programs, too. They don't know everything but some of their people are pretty good. The store I went to doesn't have anyone who knows much about audio or video, unfortunately.

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=19462

JimN
09-26-2007, 12:14 PM
I agree that google is a great resource. My 98SE machine had major problems when I tried to network it with my laptop and when I clicked on the wrong option in Network Settings, it would only open as far as the wallpaper when I would start or restart. I typed the last error code and found a site at www.annoyances.com, which had several threads by people with the same problem, along with the solution. I thought I was going to lose all of my data and lost nothing. When I tried to save the files I wanted so I could install XP Pro, I again screwed up and it would try to start for about 10 seconds and shut down, with another error message. I typed that in the search bar on google and again, annoyances.com told me what I needed to do. Unfortunately, that was re-format and install an OS. I still needed my files and bought an IDE-USB adaptor and dragged them to my laptop, but google and the other search engines are lifesavers.

Sodar
09-26-2007, 01:24 PM
Parallels was just mentioned in the 'Windows Vista?' thread, yesterday. It's still a live thread. If you call an Apple Store, they'll tell you about what is needed to run Windows programs, too. They don't know everything but some of their people are pretty good. The store I went to doesn't have anyone who knows much about audio or video, unfortunately.

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=19462

Thanks Jim! I will cruise over there and check it out!

Sodar
09-26-2007, 01:30 PM
Wow, that there is a thing of computing beauty, BigMac!

I have a few questions.

First, does all your hardware work on the Windows system? (i.e. CD/DVD Players and Recorders, Apple Mighty Mouse functions work on Windows, etc.)

Can you drag from one OS to another? i.e.- if I have a picture on my HD on OSX, can I drag and drop it into the Windows OS?

Are there any issues with running any sort of software on Windows? I do not heavy computing, but from a basic standpoint, do all the Office Products function normally? Have you had any issues with IE plug-ins? etc?


Thanks!

MYMC
09-26-2007, 01:30 PM
Switched everything at home to Mac this year...didnt know what I was missing! Offices will be next...

For what it is worth you can by 1-2-1 from an Apple store and you'll get one hour of training each week for a year...all for $99! What a bargin, we have learned so much I highly reccomend it.

bigmac
09-26-2007, 02:00 PM
It's very seamless. When I open Parallels, Windows boots up in a window that's whatever size I want. I usually bring it up on the second monitor and then click on the "full screen" button. It runs absolutely identical to any Windows machine...all the drivers are there etc. I can drag files between Windows and Mac OS screens with no problem. I have Microsoft Office Mac and Microsoft Office on the Windows partition too, and it's simple to drag files back and forth between the two programs. Likewise it works fine to drag images from one to the other. The hardware is the same hardware that came in the machine, so yes...DVD player, keyboard, mouse all work flawlessly in either OS. As to plug-in devices, as I was downloading that photo from my little Canon camera, I noted that when I plugged the camera into the USB port of the computer, the image download prompts came up automatically and simultaneously in both the Mac and PC windows - in the Mac via iPhoto and in the PC via the Windows auto image downloader. Likewise, my scanner works just fine on either. Kind of amazing, really. The only issue I've had is that some 3D games that are PC only don't work well using Parallels . They do work, but the frame rates are too low to be competitive in games that require ActiveX.

All the Internet Explorer plug-ins work normally, although I usually use FireFox on the Mac (faster). When Windows is running, both the Mac and Windows partitions are connected to the internet separately, as in the picture.

Sodar
09-26-2007, 02:07 PM
Sounds so sweet! I am going to put my 14" iBook up on ebay and make the transition.... if anyone is interested, let me know!! :)

Eagle
09-26-2007, 02:07 PM
I've heard that Fusion (from VMWare) is even better than Parallels. Here's a link to Walt Mossberg's review (http://online.wsj.com/public/article/SB118601329806085500.html) in the WSJ.

bigmac
09-26-2007, 02:11 PM
I've heard that Fusion (from VMWare) is even better than Parallels. Here's a link to Walt Mossberg's review (http://online.wsj.com/public/article/SB118601329806085500.html) in the WSJ.
Yeh, that is kind of debateable I guess, but I've heard that too. Both Parallels and VMware Fusion (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wa/RSLID?mco=8748F85E&fnode=home/shop_mac/software&nplm=TP185LL/A)are available from the Apple Store. I know nothing about the latter other than that it has a strong following. I haven't been dissatisfied with Parallels, but I'd be interested to try VMware Fusion. I just don't use Windows enough to go to that much trouble, though.

rektek
09-26-2007, 04:11 PM
I made the switch when apple brought intel onboard. we have a macpro and a macbook in the house. we also keep a cheap PC laptop for those times when a PC is a must.

87 TriStar 190
09-26-2007, 11:47 PM
I made the switch to Mac almost 2 years ago. An iMac G5. Since I bought mine I've been demoing it and everyone that sees it goes out and buys one. I think at least 15 Mac converts have followed and all are delighted. I have MS Office mine so I can get at files from work. I still bring the PC home and use wireless occasionally. It usually just sits in the corner when it's here.

MYMC
09-27-2007, 10:57 AM
The damn Iphone was our gateway drug...two of those, then a Mac Book, next an IMac...where will this end?

Sodar
09-27-2007, 11:04 AM
The damn Iphone was our gateway drug...two of those, then a Mac Book, next an IMac...where will this end?

No iPods? :D

tones03
09-27-2007, 11:25 AM
No iPods? :D

Dont need an Ipod if you have an Iphone;)

MYMC
09-27-2007, 11:53 AM
No iPods? :D
Got a stack of them (8 or 9 i think)...from generation 1 all the way through the 80gig video (which is dumb since it is never taken out of my truck). I only keep a few songs on my phone...not really why I bought it. I love the interface and it has been the best smart phone I have owned...and I have owned them all (including the Nokia Communicator). Love the fact that if I had an issue I take it to the Apple store and they hand me a new one! Hope it never happens but it is nice to know.

Sodar
10-03-2007, 11:37 AM
Does anyone know if Parallels can be run from a MacBook??

Edit: Nevermind. Looks like I can, I will just need to upgrade the ram to 2 gigs

bigmac
10-03-2007, 11:44 AM
Does anyone know if Parallels can be run from a MacBook??
Parallels runs fine on an Intel-based MacBook. Get a big hard drive, though, because you'll need a Windows partition, and get as much RAM as you can afford.