PDA

View Full Version : Polishing Windsheild Frame?

M.T.
09-24-2007, 09:58 PM
I have a 1997 prostar 205 with a black windshield frame. The frame has chips, has anyone tried sanding the black off and polishing the frame? I believe the frame is aluminum and thought it may work.

michael freeman
09-24-2007, 10:38 PM
When I was looking at Cobalts the polished SS windshield frames looked very cool, but I was warned out on the lake they can get annoying with the sun always shinning off them in your eyes.

I have no first hand experience with this problem, just what I heard.

Keeping them polished may also be an issue unless you coat them with something to keep them from oxidizing as well.

(edited to correct my bad spelling. :)

east tx skier
09-24-2007, 10:45 PM
If removed, it can be blasted and powder coated. Or, you can get some standard glossy auto touch up paint and make the scratches disappear from anywhere more than a foot away.

03 35th Anniversary
09-25-2007, 06:38 AM
When I was looking at Cobalts the polished SS windshield frames looked very cool, but I was warned out on the lake they can get annoying with the sun always shinning off them in your eyes.

I have no first hand experience with this problem, just what I heard.

Keeping them polished may also be an issue unless you coat them with something to keep them from oxidizing as well.

(edited to correct my bad spelling. :)

My boat has chrome window framing. I don't have any probelms with the sun shinning off of it, but I also tinted my windows so this my have an effect on that.

WTRSK1R
09-25-2007, 08:39 AM
If the chips are small, and not to extensive, you can take a Black sharpy and fill them in. It will hide them from more then a couple of feet away and lasts longer then you would think.

Otherwise, I am with Easty, powdercoating is the way to go.

schnellaz
09-25-2007, 11:14 AM