PDA

View Full Version : Trailering checklist

justinlkgb
09-03-2007, 01:12 AM
Ladies and Gentelmen; I searched but somehow revealed no resuts:o , but I am getting ready to head out on a 3 hour trip from home and I get to trailer the boat . I normally don't use the trailer more than 2X per year.

What should I do prior to going on the trip?
It has Bearing Buddy, for which I have never used before.

Trailer is a 97 Shorelander, which supports a 91 maristar 210.

Also another stupid ? Does cold tire pressure assume that there is no boat on the trailer???? Would it matter???

Is there any easy way to make sure that the trailer bunks are lined up correctly?? The bunks seem to be adjustable as far as the angles go.

Thanks in andvance for your time:)

dmayer84
09-03-2007, 01:18 AM
This thread should help you out

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=18208

Chicago190
09-03-2007, 02:20 AM
-Check the lights
-Have a spare tire, jack, tools, and torque wrench with you. May want to bring an extra hub if you're going to be in areas that may not have auto parts stores nearby.
-Strap the rear of the boat down
-Add some sort of strap to the front besides the winch, you may already have it on your trailer
-Grease the bearing buddies with a grease gun until they pop out a little. Search for bearing buddy on here or google for directions.
-Check tire pressure cold (I do it with the boat on the trailer), if you have Goodyear Marathons and go over 65 MPH the pressure gets bumped up.
-Torque lug nuts properly. I believe its the usual star pattern going 45, 70, 90 ft-lbs.
-Check that your brakes are functioning and check the master cylinder for enough fluid. After travelling for awhile get out and feel the hubs. They should be the same temperature and not make it so you burn your hand. Watch for unusual amounts of brake dust on the wheels that could indicate they are sticking.

TMCNo1
09-03-2007, 08:27 AM