PDA

View Full Version : Fuel line problem

dmlakl
08-24-2007, 02:43 PM
Hi all,
I have a 1993 Mastercraft Prostar 205 with a 351 ci 285 hp Ford Indmar engine. Last week for the first time I experienced power lose issues that corrected with my changing the fuel filter (which had never been changed in 14 seasons!) and adding de icer to the gas tank. I subsequently put about 5 hrs on the boat without any problems.

Today while at barefoot speed/rpm the
boat suddenly dropped speed to eventually idle and
then died. Subsequent attempts to restart the boat
were unsuccessful. The boat acted like it had ran
out of gas, but we had more than a third of tank. So I believe this a fuel line problem.

Could this be due to a faulty fuel pump? Clogged line? There is no gas in the clear plastic tube, but the boat is not running, so I don't know if that means anything. Also, I have never changed the element in this mechanical fuel pump either. Could that be the answer?

In any case, any advice in how I should check this problem out? I am more than three hours away from a Mastercraft dealer and I would like to get the boat up and running for Labor Day.

School Skier
08-24-2007, 09:47 PM
I just went through some fuel system problems on my 97 190. Did you check your fuel tank for bebrie? They found debrie and water in my tank. I think the crud in the fuel tank got into my fuel pump and wrecked it. There are many things that can be wrong in a fuel system. The diagnosing takes time. My problem was intermitten so it was hard to dectect. We ran our boat about an hour since it was repaired hope to get it on the water on saturday.
I also use a top tier gas and filter it before it goes into the tank with a Mr. Funnel which will take out debrie and water.
Good Luck!

JimN
08-24-2007, 10:35 PM