PDA

View Full Version : trailer tires

craft86
08-20-2007, 09:21 PM
hey i have had my boat for about 4 years and this year i have to trailer it up to the lake because i couldn't afford a slip. I redid the trailer last year and the owner before me had replaced the tires and never thought anything of it well i had a blow out and the tires looked good before the trip. I religiously check pressures and grease the bearings. i am wondering what tire sizes and load range tire people are putting on there trailers. i have an 86 master craft the tires that are on there now are 205/75R14 load range C are these right thanks in advance

Farmer Ted
08-20-2007, 09:36 PM
sorry to hear about your blow out, hopefully it wasn't out in the middle of BFE and you were able to get it taken care of.

I've had my boat for three years and my last big trip of 200 miles round trip, I blew on going up and one coming back.

I think, but have not confirmed that the alignment on my trailer is out of whack.

The first blowout was on a Marathon that was about 2 years old, the second was on my spare that was probably original equipment when the boat was new in 98.

The tire size sounds close off the top of my head, have you checked the manual?

If you don't have it you can download it from here http://www.mastercraft.com/index.php?znfAction=Manual
and verify the correct size.

Also, Goodyear put out a service bulletin recomending a higher pressure 60 psi if you tow above 65 MPH

might just chalk it up to your tires time to go......

craft86
08-20-2007, 10:45 PM