PDA

View Full Version : Shaft seal woble


jayderwin1
02-28-2005, 02:50 PM
on my 86 were the shaft comes thru the boat that water tight seal kind of shakes alittle bit but the shaft look like it is straight. my question is does this seal kind of wobble any way, or is my shaft slightly bent.

jayderwin1
02-28-2005, 04:30 PM
this is when it's in gear at idel, coud it be from the shake of the motor at low RPM?

Storm861triple
02-28-2005, 10:53 PM
Your propshaft is slightly bent. If you care, pull it out and throw it in a lathe or some such device to spin it from each end. Put a dial indicator in the shft in the middle. I believe that max run out spec is .003".

-Tom

JimN
02-28-2005, 11:40 PM
With the motor bolted into fiberglass stringers and not rubber motor mounts, there isn't going to be a whole lot of motor shake.

jayderwin1
03-02-2005, 10:28 AM
Is there anyway to straighten it out or do I have to buy a new one also will it mess up the boat if I do not fix the problem, the wobble is very little at idle speed I have not seen it at cruising speed

Storm861triple
03-02-2005, 02:28 PM
There is a way to find out if it acceptable or not and I out lined that method above. If you want ot know if it's in spec that's how to do it.

Realistically, I've seen boats w/some severly bent sh!t that have been operating fine for years. I wouldn't accet that in MY boat, but you can "Get away" w/a lot.

You're probably "Fine", but there is a spec and a method to check if you really want to know.

I've never straighted a propshaft for in Inboard, but I hve for Out boards. I bet you could do it. When mine was bent though I bought a new one.

jayderwin1
03-02-2005, 02:45 PM
thanks for the info. my prop shaft doesn't seem to be bent that bad so i will stick with it. how much did it cost to replace the shaft?

east tx skier
03-02-2005, 03:05 PM
BriEOD knows of a business that may be able to straighten things up for you. Probably run about $100 or so. Replacing the shaft will cost more than double that, even if you do the installation yourself.

Storm861triple
03-02-2005, 09:22 PM
Yep. My shaft was $300.00. My PROP shaft that is. :D

If I were doing it over, I'd straighten the old one myself, but I do have the resouces to do that (Lathe, press, dial indicator, etc.)

-Tom