PDA

View Full Version : Boat Financing.... Loan terms

CrawlinZ
07-24-2007, 12:46 PM
This will be pretty weird question, especially coming from a finance manager at a car dealership, but what kind of requirements do most lenders have for boats? I see people talking terms of 30 years.

What are minimum financed amounts for certain terms? Believe it or not, google isn't that much of a help other than trying to get you to submit information to a bunch of banks.

PS - newbie here on the board. coming from the world of drag racing cars. finally had to give that up cause it just got too boring. looking to get into a nice used MC for some wakeboard fun since the old FourWinns my buddy's parents have isn't doing the job, haha. Board looks AWESOME and there is a ton of information here. I'm a moderator over on www.ls1tech.com for all the Corvette's and F-Body stuff. Trying to find a nice ProStar with the LT1 engine since I know those engines too.

Jkelly
07-24-2007, 12:50 PM
Welcome to TT. I don't know th official requirements, but my banks offered me 10,12, and 15 years. I choose 10, the difference in payments was only a few bucks between 10 and 12 and the amount of interest for 15 was heart breaking.

CrawlinZ
07-24-2007, 12:54 PM
yeah, was looking at like 20-25k boats, and putting 10k down. Just didn't know if they required you to have a minimum of 15k financed to do a 10 year term. I mean the payments aren't disasterous at a 5 year term, but just wanted to see all the options.

Chris

LQ9Lover
07-24-2007, 01:06 PM
Typically the minimum financed is 25k for the 15 year term. Under 25k choose between 10 or 12 year terms. The banks also like to see 10% down.

jwchapman
07-24-2007, 01:09 PM