View Full Version : Replacement Clarion Radio Deck (M275 for M5475)

07-19-2007, 11:13 AM
Does anyone know if the wiring harness is the same for these 2 Clarion decks?

I currently have the M5475, and I would like to replace it with the M275

The M275 have the audio jack on the front which is just what I'm looking for.

I know I'll probably have to get a new remote as well.

Here's a link to the M275


07-19-2007, 11:24 AM
I changed out a M5475 on my friends Baja with a M475 and they did not share the same wiring harness. What it did have was male/female quick connects for the power/ground/amp that allowed for a pretty simple install. I don't think a M275 will allow for a remote or add on modules requiring CeNET.

07-19-2007, 11:36 AM

hmmm... I didn't realize there was no remote for the M275.

Let me ask this question, what deck would you recommend that supports a remote and has the audio jack on the front?

07-19-2007, 11:44 AM
What's CeNET?

07-19-2007, 12:00 PM
I replaced the M5675 in my 03 X2 with the M475 and everything was plug and play. The remote still works and I gained the front Aux input which is what I wanted. It was a pretty easy change out and I think it will give you everything you are looking for.

07-19-2007, 01:12 PM
THANKS coreman!!!!

That would be sweet if I didn't have to change out the remote!!!!

07-19-2007, 02:47 PM
Well my old m455 went out and me so I just picked up an m475 on ebay brand new for 150. Was at my house in 2 days. They have a bunch of marine head units on there.

The CAENET cable is how you add accessories such as disc changers and things of that sort. If you want to upgrade your system and add things such as tower speakers, amps, or subs down the road I would def go with the m475. Also for the price difference I would go with M475. It has Ipod capabilities built into it with the adapter in which you can control you IPOD through the regular stereo boat mounted remote. Nice feature for me as my stereo remote is right at my throttle fingertips and at the transom. Does your boat have the built in remote, or are you refering to the hand held one that comes with the head unit?

Aslo it should be just a swap from that unit you were inquiring about to the M475 not rewiring.

07-19-2007, 08:33 PM
THANKS swatguy,

I do have the wired remote. That was what I was referring to. Thanks for the info.

I'm def gonna go with the M475. I'm pumped that I should be able to keep my current wired remote!!!!

07-19-2007, 08:43 PM
I did the same thing on as Coreman and I love it. I added the IPod interface to the M475 which works okay. It is a pain to change play lists or search for songs, but it awesome to control the IPod with the wired remotes.

One note on the wired remotes. You will loose the ability to mute the am/fm radio. Small price to pay to be able to keep the remotes.

07-19-2007, 08:53 PM
thanks jrhollow, we use the CD player 99% of the time so if MUTE works, then I'm am STOKED!!!!

07-19-2007, 09:11 PM
The MUTE works when playing a CD (it puts it on pause).

07-19-2007, 09:12 PM
I am still in the process of learning how to use all of the features of the ipod through the headunit.

How were u able to change playlists? WE couldn't do it for the life of us. Just played in alphebetical order. Was drivin us nuts. ALthough we only used it 2 days with ipod so far. I am not one on downloading much music to that. I prefere CD's Have the 6 disc changer. Guess I am old school HEHEHEHE

07-19-2007, 09:46 PM
Did the same swapout this year, M455 for the M5475. Works great except for the pause thing, which I really haven't missed.

07-20-2007, 09:30 AM
perfect, as long as I can pause the CD I'm stoked!!!!

Thanks guys!