PDA

View Full Version : Wake

Prostar in Michigain
07-16-2007, 10:35 PM
I am not a expert skier or wakeboarder but for wakeboarding i ride goofy footed which means my right foot is forward and im jumping a little. We have a prostar 190 96 and the wake is bigger on the right side and on the left side the wake rolls over. On a wakeboard when i jump my strong side is the side that rolls over. Just wondering if all the boats are like that or is there to much weight on one side. I really hope this isnt a dumb question.

dmayer84
07-16-2007, 10:36 PM
move some weight over to the other side

WESSTAR
07-16-2007, 10:57 PM
You can buy those 50lbs fatsac bricks that are great for balancing your boat.

SDAhockey21
07-17-2007, 12:40 AM
If you only have one person in the boat ( The Driver) Say he weighs 200 you need to put 200 on the passenger side of the boat so the wake evens out. Another thing you need to do is have your driver drive in strait lines. When the boat turns the wake will get all crazy on you.

SKI*MC
07-17-2007, 01:37 AM
it might also have to do with he rotation of the prop.

swatguy
07-17-2007, 01:50 AM
Def sounds like you need some weight moved around for sure. Are you using any extra ballast bags? If not try and move a cooler or something to the passenger side. But easiest solution is def get one of those fats bricks or a sac to move around.

Now that you're moving into the wakeboarding part you ride at lower speeds and the boat needs to be a little more balanced to ensure that the wake doesn't curl over. The boat is still off blance during your ski sets as well but it isn't as noticeable because the wake is much more compact and the speed helps the boat run a little more level side to side. The slower wake speds and the much more of a need for a perfectly shaped wake is exagerated in the boarding aspect (I am boarder so forgive me if that comment offended anyone :) ) I know some skiers who are pretty particular about the wake as well:D

beatle78