PDA

View Full Version : Re-wiring (& circuit breaker) for higher amp alternator ?

davekro
07-14-2007, 04:12 PM
I am just upgrading from 51A to 100 amp alternator. I am reading that I need to increase my OEM wire size from the alternator to the battery from current 10 or 12 awg to 4 awg!

To add confusion to my situation ('91 MC Prostar 190), the 12 awg (I think, may be 10awg) wire from alternator goes to the terminal block (at rear of engine), jumpers to a 32 volt breaker, then to the 'battery' side of the starter solonoid (where the red 2 awg cable attaches from the battery).

First, not being an electrician, I don't understand how anywhere near the factory 50 amp charge rate can get to the battery thru this 32 amp breaker (mounted underneath the terminal block) without tripping??

Assuming there is some reason my OEM system CAN actually charge 50 amps, do I need to:
1) replace the 32 amp breaker with some higher amperage (or would that leave the rest of the electrical system open to 'frying' if an electrical problem occurred)
2) Leave the 32 amp breaker in place and add a second higher amp breaker just for the larger awg wire from between the new alternator to the solonoid? (would I need to leave the original OEM wire from the alternator to the terminal block for any reason?)

Any insights would be very helpful.

Thanks, Dave

snivesatgt
07-16-2007, 07:35 AM
Unfortunately I'm not sure the answer to your question, but sparked another question from it. I hope I don't perform a thread-hijacking...but:

Your alternator goes through a 32 amp breaker between your alternator and battery?

From the sounds of it. It sounds like it just uses the battery side of the starter solenoid so that it doesn't need to have another cable run all the way to the battery itself. Much like when you ground things to the chassis rather than the negative of the battery.