View Full Version : Learn to Foil

atlfootr
07-14-2007, 11:44 AM
Here ya go, take it from here :rolleyes:

bigmac
07-14-2007, 12:19 PM
Here ya go, take it from here :rolleyes:

Take it from where?

Best place to start is to have someone teach you. Go to a Fly-In. If you're going to be self-taught, best place to start IMHO is Bob Woolley's instructional tape (http://airchair.com/products/videos.htm) that come with Air Chair's Stealth model. I've not seen anything on the web that is particularly useful for the beginner. The two Yahoo groups seem to mostly be people griping about the politics of hydrofoiling, and Foilfreaks participants seem mostly to be the same. On that latter group, you would be far more likely to get help landing your first wake roll than you would about how to actually get up on the thing. Lot's of advice about to to modify or build you own foil/board for only $10,000 too - otherwise not so much.

One challenge about learning from someone is that most people who have sufficient skill to teach have a foil that is likely to be a little too hot to learn on easily. I taught several people to successfully get up on my Stealth, but teaching people to get up on my B39 Sky Ski with tuned foils has been much more problematic. I could change the foil height, shims, blades etc in order to teach people, but really that's more on-water, in-boat mechanical disassembly/reassembly than I want to do.

Don't be afraid to buy an entry-level foil to learn on. I bought my first foil, an Air Chair, new on ebay for $1100 and sold it on ebay for $1000 18 months later once I'd outgrown it. I think the Air Chair Stealth is a great foil to learn on. I know nothing about the entry-level Sky Skis, but I suspect the same concept applies. The transition from Stealth to B39 was pretty straightforward and my capabilities expanded rapidly once I got on a hotter foil (at three times the price of a Stealth, though).

atlfootr
07-14-2007, 01:54 PM
Take it from where? BMc,