PDA

View Full Version : Boat Has Been Sitting for Long Time / What should I do??

DLM
07-05-2007, 07:20 PM
My first post on this board, I am glad I found it, lots of good information.

I have a 2005 Master X2 That has been in storage for 2 years. I am getting ready to pull it out and was wondering if I should take it in for a service or just charge the battery and run it. There is very little fuel in the tank so I can dilute with 90% fresh fuel. Is this OK or am I asking for trouble? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

RedStar
07-05-2007, 07:22 PM
Let 'er rip, man.

Sodar
07-05-2007, 07:24 PM

I have a 2005 Master X2 That has been in storage for 2 years. I am getting ready to pull it out and was wondering if I should take it in for a service or just charge the battery and run it. There is very little fuel in the tank so I can dilute with 90% fresh fuel. Is this OK or am I asking for trouble? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

I would take it in to have the fluids changed, the impeller changed and just have them look over everything. That way, you know your chances for problems are much less likely!!

Have Fun and Welcome!! I cannot believe you have a 2005 that has been sitting for 2 years... how many hours are on it??

RexDog1
07-05-2007, 07:36 PM
Change all the fluids, charge the batters and make sure the hold the charge
And change, the Impeller, look over your wires mice and rat chews
Look at all your ropes, and safety equipment

etduc
07-05-2007, 07:44 PM

1. Change oil and filter
2. Drain fuel rail, or line to Throttle body.
3. Replace fuel filter.
4. Remove plugs, squirt a mist of engine oil in cyclinder. Install new plugs.
5. Remove as much old fuel, as possible, before adding new fuel.
6. Replace impellar.

Main issue is fuel, degrading, becoming a varnish-like substance, affecting fuel injectors. The rest is basic maintenance. Things age and degrade sitting.

True enough, charging the battery and fuel, may get it started. But it won't run well.