PDA

View Full Version : boat sluggish under load

FiremansMC
07-03-2007, 01:45 PM
I have a 1990 MasterCraft TriStar 190 with the 351. It has the 4 bbl.
Holley setup. The boat runs fine to about mid throttle(35mph) without a skier. If you try and take off fast from a stop or accelorate from mid throttle to full throttle all at once, the thing wants to fall flat on its face. We are thinking it is when the second set of bbl's are trying to open up. We have done everything we can think of. Fresh tune up,(plugs, wires, cap, rotor, etc...), rebuilt the carb twice and double checked everything a third time, new fuel pump, new fuel filters, fuel lines all look good, pickup tube is clean, screens in the brass fitting is clean, gas and tank look clean, and the timing is right on. Is that anything else anyone can think of?

WilliM1940
07-03-2007, 01:54 PM
Carbeurator overhaul. Get a Renew kit and a Holley tech book. Sounds most like the accelerator pump is shot or misadjusted. But if yours has never been gone over, its time.

Danimal
07-03-2007, 02:03 PM
I am having similar issues but not as bad as yours. I have a little bit of a throttle lag when gettin on it. It stumbles a little but it doesn't fall flat on it's face. I will be trying the rebuild kit myself. I also did all of the tune up things you mentioned also.

FiremansMC
07-03-2007, 02:17 PM
I forgot to list this. We have rebuilt the carb. 2 times.

Thrall
07-03-2007, 06:18 PM
My 2 top suggestions were going to be accel pump or timing, but you seemd to have eliminated those problems (as long as the accel pump was reinstalled correctly, I believe there's a spring under the plunger, but haven't pulled apart a Holley since hi school).
Your ignition is vacuum advance, correct? That may be the problem, ign timing not advancing properly w/ rpms/load.

FiremansMC
07-05-2007, 12:28 PM