PDA

View Full Version : Low Voltage Alarm? Cause?

shepherd
07-02-2007, 11:18 AM
My boat is an '03 197 with LQ9 engine. On the lake yesterday, a warning alarm went off and stayed on until I shut down the engine. Oil level and pressure was OK, engine temp was OK, but I noticed that the voltage gage was showing only 12 with the engine running. I put a multimeter on the battery -- 12 volts showing with engine off, 11.7 volts showing with her running (no stereo on).

My first suspicion was bad alternator, second guess maybe bad connections? I'm going to check and clean all my electrical connections (at least the ones I can find). But can anybody tell me how to check my alternator properly? Anything else I should be looking at?

I'm no mechanic, so any tips will be appreciated.

TMCNo1
07-02-2007, 01:06 PM
My boat is an '03 197 with LQ9 engine. On the lake yesterday, a warning alarm went off and stayed on until I shut down the engine. Oil level and pressure was OK, engine temp was OK, but I noticed that the voltage gage was showing only 12 with the engine running. I put a multimeter on the battery -- 12 volts showing with engine off, 11.7 volts showing with her running (no stereo on).

My first suspicion was bad alternator, second guess maybe bad connections? I'm going to check and clean all my electrical connections (at least the ones I can find). But can anybody tell me how to check my alternator properly? Anything else I should be looking at?

I'm no mechanic, so any tips will be appreciated.

Just for the giggles of it, have the battery checked too and that can be done anywhere batteries are sold, like Sears, AutoZone, Advance or any battery service center and most do it for free too.

pq2
07-02-2007, 01:13 PM