PDA

View Full Version : 2007 Tower setup

rstitson
06-29-2007, 07:05 PM
I have no experience with wakeboard towers. When we demoed a x-15 I noticed no tower shake but the water was pretty calm. When we have moderately rough waters our current tower (2007 x-15) shakes quite noticeably at speeds above low twenties (not loaded). It is especially noticiable when the boat is rolling sideways. I can actually see movement at the front isolation mounts. It may be getting worse, noticeable at lower and lower speeds with greater movement. Unfortunately my dealer is 3 hours round trip away and really doesn't seem to know much about it, as they made one attemp to tighten up some bolts in one place, but that's it. Not blaming them as I have not been adamant about my concern. I am looking for anyone that knows just how the tower is supposed to function and how much movement is normal. I am concerned that given too much movement at the mount it might snap the bolts and it certainly impacts my willingness to drive at higher speeds in moderate chop. I am also looking for feedback from owners where their tower is very stable as that would tell me I should be concerned. I like the fact the there are mounting blocks that isolate the hull from stresses applied by tower vibration. I am just thinking mine is too loose and there is something I could do about it.

Maristar210
06-29-2007, 07:10 PM