PDA

View Full Version : bringing '89 prostar out of storage

red89prostar
06-25-2007, 11:25 PM
Ok. Got an '89 prostar, has seen very little use the last couple of years. Getting ready to pull her out of storage and get her ready for a houseboat trip.

A few questions. I am not a mechanic, but to keep costs down will have to tackle this stuff on my own.

The carb is shot, but I just read a thread that I think has me going in the right direction. Is it true that a new carb can bolt right on a run correclty straight out of the box?

Tune up: (Points, plugs, wires, rotor, Cap, capacitor) Is there a good online source for a whole kit? Can the points, rotor, etc just be installed or is there some kind of adjustment/settings that need to be done.

Oil change. No problem.

Heater core is leaking. Planning to loop the hoses and bypass heater.

Gas gauge does not work. Is there an online source for rebuild/replacment parts.

Trailer wheel bearings/break buddy? What do I need to do to check the bearings and lube them up?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. We haven't skied much in the past few years and the kids are getting kind of excited. I hope I can get this thing up and running soon.

Hoosier Bob
06-25-2007, 11:29 PM
WWW.SKIDIM.COM! Get rid of the heater or buy a new core. No a carb cannot be bolted on and run perfectly but you should be close, idle circuit. Ski Dim should have your fuel sender. SKI!

red89prostar
06-26-2007, 12:33 AM
Just got off the phone with a mobile mechanic. Says he rebuilds the Holly carbs all the time. Comes to the house, does a tune up, rebuilds the carb, check the trailer breaks, bearings, lights. Water pump, battery, drains the fuel, filters, etc. Packs the drive shaft, lubes the steering,

Probably going to be $400-$600 for all, depending on parts needed.

Might be the way to go for me, if they guy is good.

east tx skier
06-26-2007, 12:14 PM