PDA

View Full Version : Throttle cable 1996 Prostar 190


pthornto59
06-25-2007, 11:56 AM
I can't get the throttle body out of it's housing to disconnect the throttle cable for replacement. Any ideas?

OhioProstar
06-25-2007, 06:08 PM
Are you replacing the throttle body or the cable? The cable is only held on with a 3/8 nut at the end of the throttle arm.

pthornto59
06-25-2007, 07:02 PM
I need to replace the cable. In my friends older PS you can just pop the whole throttle out and disconnect the cable. We couldn't get mine out to disconnect.

should I be able to disconnect while it's still in place?

TMCNo1
06-25-2007, 08:33 PM
Just to clear something up.
You are stating "Throttle Body" in post #1. You are refering to the control where the throttle/gear shift lever is housed, right, and where the throttle cable attaches to it and not on the engine just under or behind your flame arrester.

pthornto59
06-25-2007, 10:01 PM
Yeah, I am trying to disconnect the cable where it attaches to the throttle lever next to the driver's seat.

OhioProstar
06-26-2007, 09:10 AM
Now that we have narrowed it down to the Throttle Control, hopefully JimN or someone who has replaced one can give you some tips.

pthornto59
06-26-2007, 11:05 AM
I hope so. I would love to get it out tonight and get it fixed before the weekend.

Any idea where I can find the cable length, prior to taking it out and measuring? I have called several MC dealers and no help so far.