PDA

View Full Version : Are there any firefighters here?

brftski
06-20-2007, 04:28 PM
With the recent, fire deaths in Charleston, South Carolina. I started wondering how many firefighters are on here. What station, rank, and position you hold? I am a station Chief and an Arson Investigator for Anderson County in South Carolina.

--------------------------------------------
"Free Paris"

dmayer84
06-20-2007, 04:34 PM
I joined my local station, Fairchild Fire Company Station 4 for Morris Township NJ back in January, go to Fire 1 in Sept.

tex
06-20-2007, 04:55 PM
Where's Quincy?

Bruce
06-20-2007, 05:56 PM
brftski I grew up just up the road from you in Greenville S.C. I've been a firefighter for about 12 yrs. (since I retired from the corp. world.) I am a Capt. and dept. Safety Officer. I am on reserve status but because of safety resp. I am pretty much on 24/7. I am with Fire Dist. #3 in Lacombe, La.We are also the 911 provider for this area and run all the medicals. So heart breaking about our brothers in Charleston. I would have hated to be the Safety Officer on that scene. Tough call.(heavy fire load, probably metal truss roof)Looks like it must have flashed. The families and the other guys/gals there really need our prayers.
Keep your shield down and stay safe,
Bruce

Ric
06-20-2007, 06:00 PM
I doubt all the details are in but what do you fire guys think of a warehouse full of nicely painted up chinese wood furniture packed and stacked in cardboard boxes in a 50k sq ft building? What could have been done regarding fire-code to keep this from happening? I am sure mymc could tell some stories about firecode on a boat dealership in that area, but what about warehousing? or warehouse stores for that matter

BuzzSr
06-20-2007, 10:44 PM