PDA

View Full Version : Engine Won't Start

gdtmcs
06-15-2007, 05:00 PM
We were out 3 days ago and after 6 or 7 swap outs the boat would not start, and stil hasn't.

2001 Mastercraft X-9 with 330 HP LTR Engine. Have Fuel, Kill switch is working. Batteries are good.

Engine turns over but never catches.

Thoughts on what to check next?

Thanks in advance.

PendO
06-15-2007, 05:03 PM
Do you have fuel pressure ... could be a fuel pump failure ... check the pressure on the fuel rail

We were out 3 days ago and after 6 or 7 swap outs the boat would not start, and stil hasn't.

2001 Mastercraft X-9 with 330 HP LTR Engine. Have Fuel, Kill switch is working. Batteries are good.

Engine turns over but never catches.

Thoughts on what to check next?

Thanks in advance.

gdtmcs
06-15-2007, 05:04 PM
I am new to this boat. How do I check the fuel pressure at the rail?

PendO
06-15-2007, 05:14 PM
I am new to this boat. How do I check the fuel pressure at the rail?

Hold on I will find a few pictures ... what you are lookign for is where the fuel pump takes its high pressure line to the engine, on the fuel rail there is a valve (looks like the valve on a bike tire) ... take the cap off the valve, if you depress the needle gas will come out of the valve (so hold a towel over it) ... let me look around for some pictures and I will post in about 5 minutes ... also, if you do a "search" look at the terms "fuel pump" and you will find that your symptoms have been experienced by many of us

PendO
06-15-2007, 05:15 PM
Try this thread and see if it helps:

http://www.tmcowners.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=15770

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u139/06Prostar197/untitled.jpg

this is not what your boats fuel rail looks like (exactly) but you should have a good start ... also, look at the thread above for info on how to test your fuel pump pressure (if you dont want to do it the backyard way - depress needle on schrader valve)

gdtmcs
06-15-2007, 05:19 PM