PDA

View Full Version : Need advise on boat

TheOneandOnly
06-14-2007, 07:31 PM
I am looking for advise on which boat would be best for me. I am looking for a universal boat that would be good for wakeboarding, skiing, tubing and sometimes fishing. Im new to this if anyone can give advise I'd appreciate it.

Chief
06-14-2007, 07:35 PM
I am looking for advise on which boat would be best for me. I am looking for a universal boat that would be good for wakeboarding, skiing, tubing and sometimes fishing. Im new to this if anyone can give advise I'd appreciate it.

No Mastercraft should ever be fished out of (CSX exempt). My father cannot reason why I would not fish out of my boat but then again his boat wouldn't pull a wakeboard.

rstitson
06-14-2007, 08:56 PM
I fish out of an x-15... off the rear platform... but it isn't an fishing boat. the best fresh water fishing boats are outboards with shallow draft lift up the motor and use a trolling motor when neccessary. That said I like the inboard better than the stern drive for a number of reasons personal to me. Better high speed handling, rear platform. Quality of master craft. smooth transmission and the ability to do water sports better and safer than the others. But the inboard does need a attitude adjustment plate other wise you will be with the bow too high at low speeds with a wakeboarding boat when only cruising. A ski only boat will not do well in rough water. Our x-15 does well in rough water as I am sure the x-45 and most likely the x-30 will. Most people will tell you that the stern drive is the best all around drive with some wear and tear issues.

TheOneandOnly
06-14-2007, 09:48 PM
thanks rstitson I will be doing very little fishing however I'd like to once in a blue moon. Which I could use the teak platform for that as well. What is altitude adjustment plate?

east tx skier
06-14-2007, 09:58 PM
The Pro Star 205 will do all those things and more.

Chicago190
06-15-2007, 12:04 AM