PDA

View Full Version : Need help w/RR tie Stairs...

Storm861triple
06-03-2007, 08:16 PM
When it comes to working on my house, I'm a retard. Or at least I feel like one. You'd think w/all my years of being a mechanic, I'd be able to apply my knowledge and skills form that profession to house repair. I can't however...at least not very effectively. :rolleyes:

My house has those RailRoad ties for a stair case going up to the house (I didn't install them). Burried underneath them is the water pipe that goes to my garage. The pipe has sprung a leak, and I've pulled up the deck and started shoveling out sand, but have realized that I need to disassemble at least part of the stairs (starting from the top down). It appears that the stairs are held together w/HUGE nails; like 1/4" thick, and 10-12" long. I can't get the nails out. Any advise? I need to be able to put them back together too, so a chain saw won't work.

JohnnyB
06-03-2007, 08:23 PM
Used the same type of nails for a retaining wall.....the only thing I can suggest is something large to pry between the railroad ties....pipe with flattened end, solid metal ice chipper????

I'm not sure how I'd get the ones apart that I installed either.

Storm861triple
06-03-2007, 08:28 PM
Ice Chipper!!! That's a great idea! I'm going to go "Rail" on it w/that...

Thanks!

JohnnyB
06-03-2007, 09:09 PM
Let me know how it works....someday I may have to disassemble mine, too.

One is held together with those spikes and the other one I used 1/4 rebar instead.

BuoyChaser
06-03-2007, 09:12 PM
you need constant pressure in a direct upward pull...as a mechanic you'd appreciate an old bumper jack ricked with a nylon webbing strap wrapped around the "rebar" to pull directly upwards...

my grandfather rigged a similiar system to pull pipe out of the "clay lake bottom" after it would sink down after years to readjust the dock...

jrhollow
06-03-2007, 09:57 PM