PDA

View Full Version : Oil Drain Hose Fitting

puck_11
05-30-2007, 02:47 PM
I am having problems changing my oil as I can not get the oil drain hose fiitting off. As I try to turn the bolt to get it off, it spins the whole fitting assembly, I tried to hold one part of the assembly with another wrench, but I can't get a grip on it as it's completely round and the wrench keeps on slipping. I don't have a picture so you can't get a good visual of what I am talking about, but I've tried pretty much everything that i can think of. Any other ideas? I've thought of just cutting it off and putting a new fitting on there, but i'm not really sure of what I could put on there? Ideas? Also, I have a jabsco drill pump that I used to change the transmission fluid, but I'm having problems getting it to work to change the oil. I've been sticking it down the dip stick tube (is this the right place?) but I can't seem to get it to prime, tips?

Mike

bigmac
05-30-2007, 03:22 PM
I am having problems changing my oil as I can not get the oil drain hose fiitting off. As I try to turn the bolt to get it off, it spins the whole fitting assembly, I tried to hold one part of the assembly with another wrench, but I can't get a grip on it as it's completely round and the wrench keeps on slipping. I don't have a picture so you can't get a good visual of what I am talking about, but I've tried pretty much everything that i can think of. Any other ideas? I've thought of just cutting it off and putting a new fitting on there, but i'm not really sure of what I could put on there? Ideas? Also, I have a jabsco drill pump that I used to change the transmission fluid, but I'm having problems getting it to work to change the oil. I've been sticking it down the dip stick tube (is this the right place?) but I can't seem to get it to prime, tips?

Mike

Vise Grip? Always works for me with rounded brass nuts.