PDA

View Full Version : Oil bath hub seal DIY...

P-hat_in_Cincy
05-27-2007, 01:52 AM
EDIT: Since wakesiderides.com is down, I have added a couple of links to other sites containing the tutorial. For the wakeboarder.com site, you have to be logged in to see the pictures. For the wakeworld.com site, you do not need to be logged in.

Wakeworld:
http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/65921/453626.html?1180533730

Wakeboarder:
http://forums.wakeboarder.com/viewtopic.php?t=69606&highlight

Hey all,
I know there have been threads in the past asking about oil bath hub maintenance and such. Well, I had water intrusion in both hubs and decided to try to get to the root cause. I put together a DIY on www.wakesiderides.com (http://www.wakesiderides.com) if you are interested or think it might help you. Please keep in mind that I'm not a mechanic, so someone with more knowledge may have some tips to offer, or errors to point out...which is fine, so please do so!

Take care,
Paul

TMCNo1
05-27-2007, 08:25 AM
A very nice job on the tutirial, it don't gret no better than that. The lettering in the pictures could have been white to make it easier to read, IMO. Thanks for the great job!

Tim205
05-27-2007, 08:52 AM
Great Job P-Phat. When you do something, you do it right! I agree about the white lettering. I might be getting old, but I just can't see the blue.

JohnnyB
05-27-2007, 09:57 AM
Good set of pics....usually when I'm doing something in the garage I'm working against the clock and don't get pics. Thanks for taking your time and sharing.

Incidentally, one thing I noticed is that you should probably put blue loctite on the bolts that hold the brake calipers on. I just intalled new calipers yesterday and the new factory calipers came pre-shipped with blue locktite on the hex bolts.

P.S. I'm going to go look at the color of my hub grease now.....how many miles are on that trailer?

P-hat_in_Cincy
05-27-2007, 10:01 AM