PDA

View Full Version : A Timely Message...

Rapunzl
05-24-2007, 04:50 PM
Hey Skiers, Footers, and Water Lovers Alike...

I just found out that one of my best friends has been diagnosed with malignant melanoma. He's only 41, has always been careful about burning, and has a wife and 2 kids. This was a complete suprise to us all, and has left a hole in my heart.

As a cancer nurse, I felt that I had to post this thread to remind all of us to remember our skin in the sun. You may have read the recommendations below, but please read them again, and ACT ON THEM.

1. What is SPF?? Sun protection factor refers to how long you can stay in the sun and be protected before you burn. I have very fair skin and tend to burn within 15 minutes, so if I use an SPF of 10, that means that I can stay in the sun for 150 minutes (15 times 10) before I burn. The higher the SPF, the better the protection.

2. To apply sunscreen appropriately, you need an amount that would fill a shot glass, so if used correctly, you'll be buying lots of sunscreen over the summer. Sunscreen must be applied about 30 minutes before going into the sun. Most of us apply it after we get into the sun...the wrong thing to do! And then we wonder why we got burned! The sunscreen must be absorbed into your skin in order to be effective, hence the 30 minutes.

3. Sunscreen must be re-applied every 2 hours...even if it's the waterproof kind. And reapply it religiously after you take your wet/dry suits off...the suits can cause it to rub off.

4. Remember the tops of your ears, neck and scalp (where cancer often begins). Your lips can burn also...so use a lip balm with sunscreen in it.