PDA

View Full Version : First time out... A couple questions???

chevy08bud
05-07-2007, 11:15 AM
Just got the boat out for the first time this weekend and I would say it was a success. I didn't break anything, ding a prop, run into a dock, or sink the boat. I do have a few questions though. I am used to driving I/O boats and this is my first DD. When I am driving the boat, and I release the throttle, is it supposed to back off and ultimately return to idle, or should you be able to take your hand off of the throttle and have it stay in the position that you put it? The other question is: I know that backing up these boats can be difficult because you cannot really steer where you want to as you would be able to with an I/O. Are there any tricks or tips for reversing and getting the boat to go halfway where you want it? I have found a few occasions already where the starboard "shift" when you put the boat in reverse is helpful, but I'm still learning how to drive this thing, and have already vastly improved both my comfort level and driving skills since the first time out. Any tips/tricks and light on this would be appreciated.

east tx skier
05-07-2007, 11:42 AM
There is a throttle return spring (should be on the starboard side of your engine somewhere, but I only know how to do this with the Ford engines that have the spring on the port side). Basically, you should be able stretch it or replace it with a less tense spring so it doesn't drag your throttle back. It is a safety feature in case your throttle cable breaks. One of the Chevy guys will be able to tell you more about this.

As for backing it up, take it out away from all solid things and practice, practice, practice. Back a little, turn your wheel to the right and bump it forward a little to get the back end straight, then back it some more. I know of a person or two who swear they can steer while the back it up. But I haven't figured that part out in the last several years. Soon, it'll be normal for you.