PDA

View Full Version : 95 prostar 205 no spark

lofosho97
05-04-2007, 11:06 PM
Last sunday on the way back to the landing my boat just died on me.We figured it ran out of gas and we were wrong.After checking we found it had no spark on any of the plugs.I thought possibly the ignition coil or possibly a distributor cap but im no mechanic.Is there anything that happens to this model boat typically?Can someone explain how I can test the coil or the distributor cap?

Leroy
05-05-2007, 01:10 AM
Bump;

I think electronic came in 96, I don't have any help but sure someone will tomorrow.

Monte
05-05-2007, 01:14 AM
Somebody has posted a complete engine guide on here before. I don't have a clue where.

JimN
05-05-2007, 01:51 AM
I would look at the safety switch/lanyard or the ignition switch for this one. Next, I would look for loose grounds on the motor.

JEREMY79
05-05-2007, 11:27 AM
I agree with JimN. Distributor cap is probably not going to just go out at once. Chances are you would have gotten a miss first

JimN
05-05-2007, 11:35 AM
If it's not the safety switch or ignition switch, look for the three fuses and check them. If the INJ/ECM or ECM Battery fuse is bad, you won't have fire. Also, it could be the pickup in the distributor. I haven't seen may of those go at all, but it's still possible.

What happened just before it quit? Hit a big wake/wave, really hard turn? Something like that could indicate a loose wire/bad connection.

lofosho97
05-06-2007, 01:17 AM