PDA

View Full Version : sheered alternator bolts!!!

BCBlazers
05-01-2007, 10:07 AM
I've put about 6 hours on my new boat and developed a horrible squeal mentioned in an earlier thread, which went away after the boat warmed up. Now i have two sheered off bolts on my alternator bracket that are gonna SUCK to get out! I'm not sure if they were like that when i bought the boat and they just had the remaining one tightened enough to hold for the sale or what. Now i've got the wonderful project of getting the bolts out (better than paying MC for labor!)
If any of ya'll have any suggestions about getting the bolts out, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks guys

wsrobert
05-01-2007, 10:10 AM
From my experience, it's best to remove as much as possible to give yourself plenty of room. I know you don't want to have to take off and put back alot of equipment, but sometimes it's better to bite the bullet when trying to get to hard-to-reach bolts. I'm not a professional mechanic, so this is just opinion thru learning the hard way.

Ric
05-01-2007, 10:16 AM
There was some sort of recall on alternator bolts and a replacement alternator bracket. Do a search on this site, you are not alone. What year is the boat?

BCBlazers
05-01-2007, 10:20 AM
04 X-2 has 325 hrs. mint cond. guy ran in brackish water though

Ric
05-01-2007, 10:34 AM
so it's an mcx motor?

BCBlazers
05-01-2007, 10:38 AM
yeah 350 mcx

Romanod
05-01-2007, 10:49 AM
Go to an auto store and ask for an easy out. You drill a hole in the bolt and use the east out to remove it.

Ric
05-01-2007, 12:02 PM
Romanod has the fix (I'll add some liquid wrench to that autozone trip) . What I don't know is if MC is paying dealers to repair broken bolts under warranty or simply supplying the new bracket under warranty. Get on the horn and find out the details of that recall stuff. Call your dealer first... THat is the Mantra here!

Workin' 4 Toys
05-02-2007, 10:12 AM