PDA

View Full Version : Test Firing on trailer

PsychoatLarge
04-30-2007, 03:37 PM
This is my first year with my 1975 MC Stars and Stripes :) . What is the best way to get water to the engine when test firing the boat dry while on the trailer?

88 PS190
04-30-2007, 03:40 PM
I feel the best way is to remove the water intake hose where it connects to the thru hull fitting, then either make a connection for your garden hose, or take a 5 gallon bucket, place the intake hose and place it into the bucket, then take your garden hose and turn it on and run it into the bucket.

Start the boat, and it will suck water out of the bucket for you.

Which is quite helpful.

PsychoatLarge
04-30-2007, 04:22 PM
I like the sound of the 5 gal. bucket method, it will let me know that my impeller is sucking. Thanks

wakescene
05-01-2007, 05:38 PM
personally I think this is about the best method...http://www.boatersworld.com/product/357260074msk.htm

Been using one for about 3 years now, no problems and I boat in salt water so I enjoy the fact that I can flush the motor after every use but not have to pull the boat out of the water ever time.

Simple to install too.

TX.X-30 fan
05-01-2007, 05:55 PM
Anyone know what size hose is on an MCX for the perko flush pro??

wakescene
05-02-2007, 01:48 PM
I would expect 1 1/8th. I'd pop the hose off and measure or look on the thru-hull pickup and see if there is a marking indicating the size. Perhaps a call to a dealer or Vonore might help as well. If your running a late model boat, I would go 1 1/8th.

M-Funf
05-02-2007, 02:29 PM
First, welcome to the board! The methods above will work fine for running the boat on the trailer. Just remember not to take it above idle...

Oh, and if you've got pics of that ol' S&S, please post some!!!!

Ryan
05-02-2007, 02:50 PM
First, welcome to the board! The methods above will work fine for running the boat on the trailer. Just remember not to take it above idle...