PDA

View Full Version : Stereo question

rsk
04-22-2007, 09:30 AM
Yesterday , first day on the lake with the 06X30
I see why MC is the sh*t. Watersport heaven.
Couple of questions .
Playing Cd's , when reaching a certain volume level they would sound like they were skipping, and then the unit would stop. Not turn off, but not play them .
This only would happen at a certain level. Loud by the way. Is that a "governor" so to speak ?
Also, the forward bilge emptied it self several times during the day.
A pretty decent stream for a minute probably each time.
I am totally new to this and don't know if this is normal.
Was wondering if the ballast system had anything to do with it.
Filled the ballasts yesterday and they emptied fine by the way.

Kell
04-22-2007, 10:57 AM
Sounds like your amp is clipping which is caused by turning up the amp too high. You will probably need a better quality amp if you choose to listen often at the level. As for the bilge, was the bilge bone dry when you started for the day? The shaft log (where the shaft goes through the hull) is lubricated by a small amount of water that keeps the packing glad for overheatint due to the high speed that the shaft rotates. Its like 15 drops per minute (do a search for the recommend drip rate). You may also have a leak in the balast system or if you store the boat on the water, maybe the accumulation of rain or what ever. But the amount of water you have described above does sound like too much to me.

erkoehler
04-22-2007, 11:39 AM
That seems like to much water in my opinion. Did you have wet people getting in and out of the boat?

rsk
04-22-2007, 11:44 AM
OK now I am pis*ed.