PDA

View Full Version : Wakeboarding Behind a 1983 Stars and Stripes

CODY_YARBER07
04-15-2007, 05:31 PM
Hello. I have a 1983 Mastercraft Stars and Stripes. I used to only slalom but now I have taken a liking to wakeboarding. The wake that this boat produces is made for slalom and I understand that but I was wondering if anyone could help me make this wake a little bigger and more wakeboard friendly. I included a pic of the boat and a pic of my cousin wakeboarding. I also have a very crappy wakeboard. I was wondering if a new board would help.

http://a431.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/00783/03/45/783445430_l.jpg

http://a400.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/01460/99/38/1460458399_l.jpg This is as high as we can get

nuckinfutz
04-15-2007, 06:04 PM
I know I will get scolded from fellow TMC owners but have you considered fat saks? or something that adds weight to the back? I wouldnt do anything perminent to this boat, from what I understand, its a classic.

As far as boards go, its all about personal preference. Just like shoes, your not going to strap on a new pair of bowling shoes and expect to be better at track! Ive seen some of the best tricks pulled off by a so called "crappy" WB. I have a crappy one and a expensive one as well and sometimes feel better on the crappy one.

Personal preference!!

Welcome to the Board!!:wavey:

CODY_YARBER07
04-15-2007, 06:12 PM
ive tried "fat a$$es". some of my friends. it doesnt seem to do anything except make the wake break.

nuckinfutz
04-15-2007, 06:29 PM
hmm. Im sure someone with a similar boat will be here soon and have a better answer. Kind of a tough situation. The boat was designed to not produce wake. Sounds like your issue is a real tribute to MC success!!

88 PS190
04-15-2007, 08:11 PM
weight distribution is key. You don't just want to throw a ton of weight in the rear, but rather the sides and into the bow. as well as the rear to shape the wake add height and balance you out.

how fast are you running the boat?