PDA

View Full Version : $ to buff hull

86mcskier
03-16-2007, 01:57 PM
I got a quote today from a detailer for $400 - $500 to remove the boat from the trailer, and buff out all the gel from top to bottom with 3M products. Is this high, low, or average? Also, about how much could I do this for myself if I bought all the products needed to buff. Also, I have never used a high speed buffer before, but I have heard it isn't as difficult as it sounds.

shepherd
03-16-2007, 02:37 PM
I spent less than $200 for tools, materials and supplies (including $79 buffer, pads, compound, etc.), to buff, polish and wax my boat. Plus, I still own the buffer, which I can use on my other boat. Took me about 8 hours total to do the job, so I guess it depends on how much your time is worth and whether you would get any enjoyment or satisfaction doing it yourself. It's a fairly easy job with the right tools.

Edit: The above didn't include removing boat from trailer and buffing the bottom. I didn't do anything on the hull below the chine.

east tx skier
03-16-2007, 03:22 PM
I paid my glass guy $250 to fix a gouge in my father in law's boat. He buffed it top to bottom for free. Having your dealer detail a boat is expensive given their hourly rates. I've always had better luck getting that sort of thing done by a local shop who does little or nothing other than that sort of thing.

86mcskier
03-16-2007, 03:27 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I think I will just do it myself.

krtrcr
03-16-2007, 03:59 PM
If you do it yourself, how do you deal with the area where the boat sits on the trailer?

shepherd
03-16-2007, 04:41 PM
If you do it yourself, how do you deal with the area where the boat sits on the trailer?

Don't worry about that part. Nobody ever sees it anyways! :D

atlfootr
03-16-2007, 04:52 PM