PDA

View Full Version : Wide Rides

Brent
03-10-2007, 10:58 AM
I have no experience with wide rides but Ed on Nicholls has & I trust his opinion .

I agree that the Triumph is a far superior ski to the Burner in regards to overall performance. It's simply a 1/2" wider System 8, which is simply a Monza with an ordinary foam core. I've taken several 26 - 30 mph skiers off of Burners, Vengenances, ASX's etc and put them on Triumphs and the improvements have been immediate and noticable for all of them.

Haven't tried the Nitro yet but I'd like to. One of my regular ski buddies went from struggling through 15 off 28 mph to getting into 34 mph in one season on his Triumph and he may move to a Nitro this year, not sure yet. IMO for an older or heavier skier the Nitro would be a better choice than the similar but thinner System 8. That's my suggestion to my buddy anyway. It's my belief that with the Nitro being just slightly wider you'll get the benifits of that width without any penalty in performance versus the Sys 8.

Ed

NEW: Re: Triumph vs Burner *LINK*
Ed Obermeier <Send E-Mail> -- Saturday, 10 March 2007, at 9:45 a.m.

Wileys has leftover '05 Triumph's with Double Wiley boots for $299 and '06 Nitro's with double Wileys for $500. Pretty hard to beat that kind of bang-for-the-buck IMO.

Ric
03-10-2007, 11:20 AM
I am willing to try it! If I warm up this spring and the monza is too much for me, someone's gettin a deal on a very slightly used Monza!

Leroy
03-10-2007, 01:29 PM
The Nitro is what the local ski shop recommended for me last year. I would be curious to see what others think.

The front lace bindings look good, any comments on them?

I am in that older and heavier category :)

Ric
03-10-2007, 02:31 PM
NEW: Re: Triumph vs Burner *LINK*
Ed Obermeier <Send E-Mail> -- Saturday, 10 March 2007, at 9:45 a.m.