PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose my first boat... Opinions on X1...?

IXFE
02-28-2007, 04:49 AM
I'm a newbie, so first an introduction :)

I am new to boating, but I've been "shopping" for years. I've learned enough to know that I don't want an I/O, so I began looking at all the tournament tow boats. I'd like to stay on the small side (20-21 feet) so garage storage won't be a problem. I also want to keep the price down (for sure under $50k, but ideally under $40K).

Boat will be used for family outings with wife and four small kids (7, 5, 3, 1) in the Willamette River and some local lakes. We plan to wakeboard, ski, and tube. I want v-drive for the family friendly layout.

I have only test driven one boat (a Malibu Sunscape 21 LSV), but I'm looking at many others "on paper" at this point.

I saw my first X1 last year at the dealer. Don't know why but I just loved it. I think I like the idea of the narrow beam. Seems like it would make for a very nimble ride and leave room in the 2-car garage for another car.

I also like the "Mastercraft on a budget" price of $43K incl. trailer (sad that they had to raise it $3k from last year). I know you are all going to say that price is an illusion because I'll want to add options. But honestly, what's wrong with a base model? I'd feel incredibly lucky just to have a new Mastercraft. I don't really care if it doesn't have tunes. As my first boat, would I really miss anything?? Seems like it has all the basics. If I walked into the dealer and ordered the base model, could I get a discount to bring it under $40k?

The other option I'm considering is a used X1. I've also looked at the older X-Star and X-2.

Anyway, I did a search and couldn't find many posts about the X1. Is it an unpopular boat?

I appreciate your feedback :)

X-45
02-28-2007, 05:19 AM