PDA

View Full Version : Ab Lounger

M-Funf
02-02-2007, 12:52 PM
Does anybody here have or use one of these? Good? Bad?

My wife and I go to the gym pretty regularly. I go 3 days/week, and she goes 4-5 days/week. I do 40 minutes of cardio and then about 30 minutes of weights.

My wife always wanted one of these, so we bought one last week at Wally World. It's an AbLounge Ultra (the middle model).

Is it worth adding this into my regular workout, or is it a waste of my time?

dsoby
02-02-2007, 01:38 PM
Just an opinion but if you and your wife are in the gym that much, I don't see any advantage by using an ab-lounger. I think that they are entirely useless unless you are in incredibly bad shape.

shepherd
02-02-2007, 01:49 PM
I'm no expert, but my general opinion is that anything that makes the particular exercise easier would also make it less effective... I'd stick with the regular crunches, leg lifts, etc.

Upper Michigan Prostar190
02-02-2007, 02:32 PM
IMO, those ab loungers are a WASTE of MONEY! I truly believe you can get the same results with one of those $10 excrecise balls, and a $10 pilates DVD. Pilates are VERY effective! so are those body balls. I woudl save the big $$$ and go that route, hey, its a cheap investment if it fails. But I say it dont fail! If you do ANY excercise religiously, they all work. Most people look for "easy miracle fixes" and spend tons of $$$ on machines that sit unused. Buy a body ball and learn some pilates and that will do the trick. :)

CoFooter
02-02-2007, 06:41 PM
I read somewhere on the top ten worst core exercises and these gimmicky machines that seem to pop up every year (like the ab lounger) around the new year were like number 3 on the list along with gym crunch machines using resistance, etc. Old fashioned sit ups, leg lifts, etc along with the ball exercises were what was recommended.

JimN
02-02-2007, 07:11 PM
I have a cousin who wants a treadmill with a snack tray. Is that wrong?

TMCNo1
02-02-2007, 07:36 PM