PDA

View Full Version : Question on Teak Sanding

454Barefoot
01-19-2007, 02:32 PM
I am currently in the process of redoing my teak platfrom via Harolds lil manual. The only question I have is in the first sanding step you are supposed to use water while sanding, then in the following steps it doesnt say anything about using water. I am assuming no water due to water/oil don't usually mix I just want to make sure i am doing this correctly.
Thanks

east tx skier
01-19-2007, 02:36 PM
I never use water during sanding, but I haven't read Harold's guide lately. If you do, let it dry completely before adding oil.

G-man
01-19-2007, 02:44 PM
454barefoot I'm a graduate of the Harold Page School of Teak, I almost failed the written test but I passed the practical test. The first sanding I did was dry with 150, 200,400 grit. I went wet on the finer papers. I did a minimum of two rounds of sanding and oiling with each different grit. One of the things that helps the most is to put the platform in the sun to bake between coats. This seems to let the teak absorb the oil and seal. I also hand rubbed the oil in not using a rag, brush or anything else to apply the oil. Rub till your hand dries out. Use only the starbright oil in the white bottle. You don't need Gold, Platnum or any other, the plain ole white bottle does the job. I hear if you show up at the National Reunion with good teak Harold will be holding graduation commencement.

shepherd
01-19-2007, 04:46 PM
Speaking of sanding, I decided to try the Harold method too. But I can't find any sandpaper finer than 400 grit in our worthless frickin local hardware stores. Where do you guys get that 1000, 1500 and 2000 grit sandpaper? Does that stuff even exist or is Harold playing a big joke on us?

Maybe I'll just clean, brighten and apply oil like I always have...

Sodar
01-19-2007, 04:48 PM