PDA

View Full Version : Inboard Motor Oil Used?

footerj
12-27-2006, 02:15 PM
Alright,

Have an 83 Mastercraft with the 351 Windsor power plant...Want to know what is the best oil to use for this application that is non-synthetic oil...I like valvoline, but question what type and weight to use...Also is it true that diesel oil can be used?

Come on guys help me out to put my questioning to rest!!

thanks

Byrdman
12-27-2006, 02:38 PM
I'm no expert, but I would not use diesel oil. In my old Prostar I think I use to use 10w-30. I dont believe the oil manufacturer matters that much because all the oil is manufactured to the same specs. Check here if you want to know what MC suggests...

http://www.mastercraft.com/index.php?znfAction=Manual

Slinkyredfoot
12-27-2006, 03:00 PM
According to my PC engine owners manual which is also a 351 quote "We recommend 10W30 or 20W40 or any good grade of automotive engine oil of the correct viscosity which has API class of "SE". I have always used 10W30 and have never had a problem with my engine.

sberry3827
12-27-2006, 03:51 PM
I use Valvoline 10w30 in my '85 351. The oem sticker on the valve cover actually calls for that weight.

bigmac
12-27-2006, 06:36 PM
According to my PC engine owners manual which is also a 351 quote "We recommend 10W30 or 20W40 or any good grade of automotive engine oil of the correct viscosity which has API class of "SE". I have always used 10W30 and have never had a problem with my engine.

That should API serivice classification of SE or better...

API spec SE is long gone, of course, so the application for that engine would be any 10w30 or 20w40 oil that meets API spec SL (or better).